Thank You

When I started blogging just over a year ago, I have to admit that it was not something I looked forward to. I always said that I’d stay far away from the Facebook/Twitter/blogging world, since I had no interest in sharing the minutia of my life with strangers or hearing about theirs. But I caved because I had to keep up with the times and build a platform and do all of the ‘junk’ that paves the road toward being published.

Well, the joke is on me because it turns out that it isn’t ‘junk’ at all.

I have enjoyed visiting various blogs and seeing the different journeys that other authors take on their way to being published. I have enjoyed reading the poems and short stories that so many have shared, and I have gained a lot of insight into the world of writing. I have enjoyed reading articles in Writer’s Digest and realizing that I can connect with the authors on WordPress. Imagine that! Amy Sue Nathan has some great writing advice – by the way.

I don’t know about you, but I sure do enjoy seeing that little orange box glow to tell me that I’ve got a new ‘like’ or ‘comment’ or ‘follow.’ I have so appreciated the sense of community that I have found online – your encouragement and helpful feedback. Who knew that people I’ve never met could be so supportive? Thank you, especially, to those who have regularly followed my blog. I will continue to try to return the favor to all of you.

Thank you to everyone who has helped to show me that blogging is not just a chore on the way to becoming published. It is instead a wonderful part of my writing life, and I wouldn’t miss it for anything.

4 thoughts on “Thank You

  1. I hear you Lauren. Social networking can be tiring, but I find blogging very rewarding. In my case, I have much more support from my fellow bloggers for my blog than my actual friends and family members! Same as what you’ve felt, each ‘like’; ‘comment’ and ‘follow’ means so much to me too!
    Thank you again for the connection here!

    Vivienne X

    • I’m so glad that you’ve found a supportive community here too. I guess it makes sense that like-minded bloggers might be more encouraging than friends and family at times. I’m glad that we’ve both found those people! Thanks for your comment, and all the best.

Leave a Reply

