Writing Resource

51cCseynukL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_While reading my subscription to Writer’s Digest, I learned about a book that I’ve already found helpful. In the section about debut authors, Jessica Lidh mentioned that she’d found the 2014 Guide To Literary Agents valuable in securing an agent.

I bought the 2015 version with reservation – there are so many resources from which to choose, and I feared that my money would be wasted. But the book is really good. It has a variety of topics, from how to write a query to blogging, and there is a LONG list of agents at the end.

My favorite advice in the book so far comes from Donald Maass, who wrote an article about three key elements that can make the difference between a powerful story and one that falls flat. Reading his comments helped me troubleshoot a problem with my main character – something I’d sensed but been unable to pin down. I think I’ve got it now, and my story will be stronger for it.

It just goes to show how important reading is to writers – whether novels or advice. There is always something new to learn.

4 thoughts on “Writing Resource

Leave a Reply

