Jumping Hurdles

I’m no runner, but it seems to me that if someone is jumping hurdles a key piece to success is to go fast.

That image popped into my head as I finished a chapter re-write yesterday. It was the one chapter I knew that I had to re-do. Not completely. I changed the location and some of the dialogue and took out a big scene, but the gist stayed the same. Nothing terrible. But for the past six months it has loomed over me as this big problem that I didn’t want to face.

And now I know why.

I wasn’t attacking it headlong – barreling toward it and overtaking it like the simple obstacle it was. The more I stared at it, contemplated it and procrastinated, the bigger of a challenge it became.

Lesson learned.

Now on to the next (not so big) hurdle.

2 thoughts on “Jumping Hurdles

Leave a Reply

