Austin, Fitzgerald, and E.L. James…Oh My

Ahh, book club…where the conversation is often about anything but books. God bless this month’s host who on three occasions tried to re-route the discussion back to her selection. It was Malcolm Gladwell’s ‘David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants.’ The general consensus was that the first chapter was great. After that – ehh. I confess that I never got around to reading any of it, but based on the underwhelming reviews it looks like I picked a good month to be lazy.

But, I digress.

I am a lone wolf in the midst of my book club in that I read and liked Fifty Shades of Grey. Insert the eye-rolling, gasps, blushes, giggles and general disgust that follows whenever I mention it or whenever someone teases me for it. But something tells me that if we’d read Fifty Shades of Grey the conversation would have happily revolved around discussion of the book for more than two obligatory minutes.

Don’t get me wrong. I like great literature. I’m currently studying philosophy. In short, I’m no idiot. But, I like variety. I like fun, and Fifty Shades of Grey is a whole lot of fun.

I don’t think that it or anything in its genre will ever make it through our book club voting process, though. Too bad. Guess I’ll have to keep going to the amusement park on my own.

Leave a Reply

