The Power of Words on a Rainy Day

There aren’t too many undeniable truths in this world, but one is that people complain too much. Sometimes it’s overtly negative, but it’s the habitual downtrodden exchange that bothers me the most.  Just think about your routine conversations.

How are you doing? Could be better.

What’s for dinner? Don’t care as long as I don’t have to make it.

How’s your day going? Okay. I’m just glad it’s almost over.

How was your Christmas? Busy.

Any plans for the weekend? Ugh. My son’s soccer game, yard work, church….

Is it every going to stop raining? God I hope so.

See what I mean?

I don’t intend to imply that I’m above this way of thinking and conversing. Sadly, I fall prey to it like everyone else. But I’ve started noticing it more. I’ve started wondering why we all accept, like drones, that being busy is inherently bad, that going to work is inherently bad, that having to make dinner is inherently bad, that rainy weather is inherently bad.

It’s the dialogue that’s bad.

Those of us who write can appreciate how important words are – how important dialogue is. Dialogue can make or break a novel, and we drive ourselves crazy trying to perfect it. So, why not apply that same devotion to our own dialogue?

You might be surprised to see that a rainy day looks a whole lot better if you instead think and say, “What a nice day it’s turning out to be.”

7 thoughts on “The Power of Words on a Rainy Day

  1. I pondered this same question a while back. I realized that the reason my answers were always negative because the people around me like family and friends always had negative thoughts. What is more ridiculous though is that most of the time I really haven’t felt negative. Sometimes I feel like it’s a competition to try and make my day sound worse to try and avoid a conversation with someone. Now, I just say how it is, I’m great, happy, and well. When I say that now, the conversation never moves and I go on with my day. How weird is that?

Leave a Reply

