No Roadmap Needed

streetsigns_21690832Can you count the number of times you’ve driven to your office, the grocery store, your kid’s school? The street signs don’t matter, you veer around the potholes without thinking, and the scenery is so familiar that you don’t notice it anymore.

This was the case for me after taking the same route to my parents’ house for the past thirty years. But one day it dawned on me that where I normally turn left I could instead go straight.

I didn’t know where it led. I saw the pine trees line the street until it dipped down and out of sight. What was down there? After thirty years of traveling through my hometown I had no idea.

You’d think I was going on some great expedition as I drove straight one day into the land of the unknown. Who lived down there? Was it all pine trees or would the land open up to fields? Would there be any kids walking home from school? Would my internal compass help me figure out when and where to turn or would I get lost?

Who cared?

That’s one reason that I ventured down the road that day. I realized that I didn’t care if I got lost. How hard could it be to turn around and go back? And, I also realized that if I couldn’t throw caution to the wind long enough to take a ten minute detour I was living a pretty boring life.

Do you think I apply this way of thinking to my writing? Absolutely. I know and appreciate that all writers manage their craft differently. As with parenting, there’s no correct way. But I do have to argue for my method, which is to work without a roadmap – without an outline. I find the notion of plotting out the journey ahead of time very stifling. Like driving down the same set of roads day in and day out without stopping to wonder what would happen if I veered left or stayed straight and just wandered for a minute.

onwriting2Stephen King compares writing to unearthing a fossil in his book, On Writing. What a great metaphor. So, whether you imagine yourself unearthing a fossil or taking a less traveled path, do yourself a favor and stray from your outline. Join those of us who have figured out that it’s a hell of a lot of fun to get lost.

Leave a Reply

